the secret lives of prothros.

February 17, 2011

Uploading Photos to the Web

Filed under: Uncategorized — prothro @ 10:21 am

Yesterday, for the first time in a quite a while, I used our laptop for something other than watching Hoarders on Netflix and re-watching Community on Hulu. I blogged on it.

Good thing I did too because it made me realize that in a few past blog posts I had been forgetting one of the very important steps to take before uploading pictures to the web. Oh, forgetfulness! What a treat.

I hadn’t noticed the problem on my iMac because it is bright, shiny and beautiful and makes mud look like a rainbow. On my laptop however, the pictures looked dingy and dull. So I thought I would share these steps with you, because let’s be honest I’m not going to go back and change the pictures on my blog.

So here are the two important steps if you’re putting pictures on the web that were taken with a big momma camera. (That’s actually the term I use for digital SLRs.) I think it is more appropriate.

1. Resize your image to 72 dpi. Otherwise it is going to be huge and you will waste space and time uploading it.

2. Make sure your photo is converted to an sRGB color space. This is the color space that is specified to the internet for home and office viewing conditions. If you upload something else, it just won’t look right on the screen. Many cameras will allow you to select this setting within the camera menu. Since I shoot in RAW and then convert photos to jpg in photoshop mine aren’t typically in sRGB. Here is the simple, quick way to get them ready for the web.

Go to the File Menu in photoshop and select Save for Web & Devices, then save your image, making sure the boxes are selected to *embed color profile and to *convert to sRGB.

That’s it. All the steps. You’re done. It’s so easy it makes you feel very silly when you forget.

Here are some screenshots and two pictures of Sedona to illustrate the difference.

Happy uploading!

1 Comment »

  1. You’re on a blog roll Jules! Keep it up!

    Comment by Brad — February 17, 2011 @ 10:43 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

