the secret lives of prothros.

October 22, 2010

Free!

Filed under: Uncategorized — prothro @ 11:42 am

Every friday on the Dave Ramsey show, people get to call in and tell their stories of paying off debt and then scream about being debt free while Ramsey plays the audio from the Braveheart freedom clip in the background. It’s become one of my favorite things about being in the car on Friday afternoons. I don’t know why but when entire families join their voices in chorus to loudly proclaim “we’re debt free” and  the Braveheart audio starts to swell in the background, I end up a bit teary. To be honest, I’ve flat out cried a time or two. And the tears were really a mystery to me. I mean, I know that freedom from debt is powerful. It’s not odd that hearing these families talk about being suffocated and oppressed by debt and finally being able to breathe again would tug my heart strings. Still, I was surprised that their stories had the power to elicit tears. I mean James Horner’s musical skills certainly don’t help keep eyes dry but I’d never dealt with financial debt nor did it carry any real significance in my life. The tears were an oddity.

Then one day, driving home from the post office, it all clicked. I knew why their stories affected me so deeply: my debt.

While I’ve never known the pain and struggle of financial debt, I’ve known the debt of sin. I’ve known the feeling of hopeless suffocation and self-inflicted oppression. I’ve also known freedom. The freedom of breathing again, of sitting still in a moment and knowing with certainty that things were going to be ok. That oppression and hopelessness were things of my past. That sin had lost its power and control in my life. That I was free.

The difference was that these people had slaved and sacrificed for freedom from their debt. Christ had slaved and sacrificed for mine.

At that moment I felt so full of joy and praise, I wanted to call someone and let them know, to share it all. I thought of how many people turn from their debt because of those friday callers on Dave Ramsey. How hearing someone describe the same desperation that debt inflicts on all its holders, and then hearing them scream in joy about their freedom from that oppression is the ultimate catalyst toward finally turning around and walking to freedom. I started wondering how many people would come to true freedom if there was a show where people could call and scream about their freedom from sin.

I got home and sat on the couch, shuffling through the day’s mail and still thinking about it, and how good it would feel to call in and yell out “I’m sin free” for all to hear. And not because I had no sin, or because I’d made up for it by being really good but because someone had paid my debt. Then, I had a passing thought that I should just yell it out right there all by myself, on our couch.  I quickly reminded myself that it was a stupid idea and saved myself the embarrassment of yelling in front of no one, to no one, but in an instant, I changed my mind, tilted my head back and screamed at the top of my lungs “I’M SIN FREE!” with all the gusto I could manage. It was apparently a decent bit, because  it scared the life out of Molly who bolted off the couch and into our bedroom before I could turn to assure her that all was well. So, then I sat there, in silence, a few tears swelling in my eyes and a big smile on my face soaking in my freedom all over again.

A week later, over lunch at my kitchen table, I made my friend scream it with me.

It feels really good to be free. It feels even better to scream about it.

Happy Friday!

Since posts are better with pictures, one from our cruise.

4 Comments »

  1. Your post brought tears to my eyes. I’m going outside right now to lift my face to the sky and shout to God and the whole world – Thank you! I’m free. This is my Friday celebration and worship! Thanks for encouraging us to revel in our freedom unashamed!

    Comment by Kim — October 22, 2010 @ 11:56 am

  2. I love this. It is such a great reminder!

    Comment by Annie — October 22, 2010 @ 12:37 pm

  3. Dear Wife, Mother(Kim), and Holy Spirit,

    Y’all just made me tear up at work. Jerks.

    Love,

    Evan

    Comment by Evan — October 22, 2010 @ 12:52 pm

  4. oh sister mercy. LOVE IT!
    And I bet if you called up Dave Ramsay he would LOVE to hear you shout that (he’s a believer)! Just think how many people would open up their hearts to the Lord if the just knew the abundant joy He hooks us up with every day!
    You’re awesome lady.

    Comment by Meg — October 22, 2010 @ 1:37 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

