the secret lives of prothros.

September 29, 2010

ACL Roundup: Bands that Start with the Letter N

Filed under: ACLfestival — prothro @ 3:30 pm

Welp, no matter how you slice it, I am more than halfway done. M is the halfway point alphabetically and N is the halfway point numerically. So here are the N Bands ranked 1-5 on my likelihood of going to see them at ACL.

NINJASONIK-This Brooklyn-based trio definitely elevate rap to another realm, mixing in anything and everything they feel like. Their lyrics are quick, smart and well paced and intermixed with lot of f* bombs. Call me what you will but I just think it’s harder to enjoy music when cussing is such a big component. They did do a cover of Daylight by my beloved Matt & Kim though, so bonus points for that.
My Vote: 1

Norah Jones-I always thought Norah Jones was from Austin and wished I had been here to see her before she became famous. Well, turns out that dream was misplaced because she actually grew her Texas musical roots in Grapevine and then later at UNT. I love her though, that hauntingly beautiful voice full of soul. Her iTunes playlist is always one of my favorites for romantic dinner background music. I’ve seen her once before and her concerts are definitely just about the music, which she can pull off.
My Vote: 4 (since I’ve seen her before)

Nortec Collective Presents: Bostich and Fussible-Nortec is not only their name but also their style, a combination of tradition Northern Mexican music and techno. There sound is definitely something quite original and again, I think if I spoke Spanish more fluently I’d be much more inclined to jump on board. Maybe instead though I’ll again be inspired to watch a soccer highlight reel.
My Vote: 1

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

