the secret lives of prothros.

September 24, 2010

ACL Roundup: Bands that Start with the Letter J

Filed under: ACLfestival — prothro @ 8:01 am

Here are the J bands, judged on my liklihood of seeing them at ACL. Also noteworthy, if I keep up with a letter-a-day pace I can finish this before ACL. And then dear internet, it is your job to stop me from undertaking such projects. 🙂 Thanks.

JJ Grey & Mofro-This group is from Florida and I don’t know why but it took me the longest time to get past this. Not because I don’t like Florida, I just always think of Miami when I think Florida,  or Disney in Orlando. These guys are a far cry from Mickey or South Beach. They’re country with an overlay of blues and funk, or maybe the other way around. I guess it depends on the song, and the album. They remind me a bit of the Black Crowes but maybe not enough to get me there early on Friday.
My Vote: 3

Jones Family Singers: This is the brand of gospel that makes you want to do the diagonal clap–up to the left and down to the right. You know what I’m talking about. Although, to be honest I generally try to avoid clapping unless the music is very loud because I am clap-challenged. 1 and 3 or 2 and 4? This is neither here nor there. They’re a great band but I think one that I would rather see at gospel brunch, which I will now have to start going to on Sundays.
My Vote: 1


Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

