the secret lives of prothros.

August 25, 2010

ACL Roundup: Bands that Start with the Letter F

Filed under: ACLfestival — prothro @ 9:55 am

So here comes the sixth installment of my ACL schedule making nightmare and today we have the F bands. Today I have something even more fun–free stuff!! If you click this here link, you get 10 free ACL band songs from iTunes. Easy, peasy, lemon squeezie.

So onto the ranking of the bands (according to my likeliness of going to see them):

First Aid Kit- First Aid  Kit is made up of two Swedish sisters with those Regina Spektor kind of voices.  There are some moments when I’m relieved that they start singing together, as it’s a vast improvement and then others when I wish the wouldn’t. I think they’re both quite talented but I think their music is so similar to so many others’. I feel like I’ve heard it all before and too often. I wish they took more risks in their music as I think they have the talent to back it up, but as is, it’s a bit too basic. (I think I’m extra hard on them because they could be much better.)
My Vote: 2

Flaming Lips- I love me some Flaming Lips and from what I’ve heard their concerts do not disappoint. Combine an acoustic sing-a-long of Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots with Wayne Coyne in a giant hamster ball rolling over the audience and I think we can all agree it will be a good time. This may also be the appropriate time to mention that I think if I ever do a wall of framed records in my house, a Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots vinyl will definitely have a place.
My Vote: 4

Foals- The ACL website attributes Foals to the math-rock genre. I’m uncool and didn’t know what that meant so naturally I wiki-ed it. Math rock is “a rhythmically complex, guitar-based style of experimental rock music that emerged in the late 1980s. It is characterized by complex, atypical rhythmic structures (including irregular stopping and starting), angular melodies, and dissonant chords.” I think it’s safe to say, that I like math rock and Foals. Their music has a mix of instruments from xylophones to synthetics to African drums. They’re another band whose music makes it hard not to dance, which is dangerous as it can lead to extreme embarrassment.
My Vote: 4

Frances England- I think I would be totally into Frances England if I was 20 years younger. She’s another sweet, indie-folk singer of children’s music. I’m only assuming she’s sweet but most people that choose to play to an audience of 5 year olds are. As I listen to her music, I’m trying to imagine what it’s like to take a kid to ACL. My imagination is not producing happy thoughts about it.
My Vote: 1

Frank Turner- I didn’t love The Outdoor Type which was the first of his songs I heard but his other songs pleasantly surprised me. His accent oozes through his upbeat, somewhat folky tunes–and who doesn’t love an accent?  His music video for photosynthesis is particularly endearing–singing a ballad about refusing to grow up and settle to a class of elementary kids. Yes, my vote has gone up at least a point as I’ve listened. He keeps growing on me.
My Vote: 4

3 Comments »

  1. Now that you know what math-rock is, you can understand how The Chariot is mathcore.

    Comment by Brad — August 25, 2010 @ 11:50 am

  2. oh man. Frances England…FABULOUS.

    Comment by Meg — August 25, 2010 @ 8:07 pm

  3. Being completely unbiased as I am – I really ACL should hire you to help promote them 🙂

    Comment by JHill — August 26, 2010 @ 7:37 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

