the secret lives of prothros.

February 23, 2010

The Giada Week

Filed under: Uncategorized — prothro @ 11:19 am

Well, at the end of my week of Giada cooking, I’m kind of disappointed. I know so many people that love her and her cooking so much and after cooking from her cookbook for a week I wasn’t very impressed. We ended the week with only one recipe that was great and one that was good. The rest were just incredibly lacking.

The winner of the week was her bread pudding, I mean sugar+eggs+cream+bread+delicious liquor sauce = awesomeness. Every time.

The Linguine with Shrimp and Lemon Oil was good too. We wouldn’t mind having it again but I probably won’t be going out of my way for it. Not when there are so many wonderful recipes in the world.

I can’t understand what went wrong.

Maybe I picked all the wrong recipes.

Then again, wrong recipes should NEVER end up in a printed cookbook.

So I absolve myself.

This week did make me really like Giada as a person, I read a bit about her and watched a video of her on FoodNetwork and she’s really incredibly endearing.

But the food sadly spoke for itself.

This week I’m not meal planning at all.

Craziness.

I have a full fridge and a full pantry and so I’m making up meals as I go this week, attempting to use up extra food in combinations that I can only hope will be palatable.

Wish me luck.

Also, if any Giada lovers have specific recipes to help redeem her in my kitchen, please feel free to send them my way.  I really want to like her cooking.

1 Comment »

  1. Try Ree’s recipes. I’ve only disliked one and other people seem to like that one, so maybe it’s me.

    Comment by Mom — February 24, 2010 @ 5:44 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

