the secret lives of prothros.

February 17, 2010

New Calendar System

Filed under: Uncategorized — prothro @ 1:25 pm

If you haven’t caught the idea yet, I really love being organized. And I generally love using google apps to organize myself because then it is all safe and sound in the gentle, protective memory of the world wide web.

So today, I did a major overhaul of my calendars in Google Calendar.

I know that the mere thought of organizing and list-making makes some people want to have an aneurysm on the spot.

And that’s why I share this randomness.

To make it a bit easier for you NORganizers. Does that word even make sense? Surely not.

So as of today, I have 8 separate calendars within my Google Calendar.

Color-coded.

Scheduled for the year.

Beautifulness.

I added a Financial Planning Calendar containing:

  • Repeating  monthly schedule of when all our bills are due, with links in the about section of where to pay them online
  • A weekly schedule of when to update quicken and our budget (Every Monday)
  • A bi-weekly task of sending in any insurance documents, random payments and depositing checks to the bank (I needed this reminder!)

I added a Birthday Calendar containing:

  • Birthdays of family and friends (Neither Evan nor I are great at remembering birthdays, let alone early enough to get a card or gift in the mail and we both decided it was something we wanted to get better at this year-so with the help of facebook I went through and added all the birthdays to the calendar)

I added a Home Management Calendar containing:

  • My weekly house cleaning schedule (yes, I actually have one of those)
  • Monthly, Semi-annual and yearly house chores (like cleaning out the fridge, changing air filters etc.)
  • Weekly house goals (this event is scheduled on Monday and I just add random things I want to get done around the house that week-next weeks has touching up paint in the bathroom, and ordering new pillow shams for our bed, the week after that is open to whatever comes up for that week)

That’s three of the eight. And don’t worry about a cluttered calendar, you can hide any of the calendars you’d like. I usually only have my main personal calendar visible after I check the whole day.

So there it is.

A look into the ridiculous simple pleasures of an organizing-obsessed mind.

Pardon the aneurysms.

Google Calendar is a blank slate. Go make it yours.

1 Comment »

  1. You’re a cheeseball, and I love you. Thumbs up!

    Comment by l.tizzle. — February 23, 2010 @ 8:31 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

