the secret lives of prothros.

November 28, 2009

Christmas Movie Madness…

Filed under: Uncategorized — prothro @ 3:54 pm

Until I got married, my knowledge of “classic” Christmas movies was unapologetically non-existent. Didn’t know. Didn’t care. When Evan and I pulled into our second month of marriage in December of 2007, he was disappointed to learn that my idea of a good Christmas movie was Elf or Christmas Vacation. Disappointed isn’t a strong enough word.

He was horrified.

He quickly went to work collecting all the classic Christmas movies I needed to see in order to cure me from my horrible taste. He was gentle with my re-indoctrination. He soften the blow of the “boring, old, black and white movies” with popcorn and cocoa and holiday treats.

But as I sat watching It’s a Wonderful Life, I was changed.

These movies really were everything he claimed. They exuded the spirit of Christmas. And without seeming cheesy. Or like they were made simply to capitalize on the box office business of Christmas. These movies really meant it.

I want my kids to grow up watching these movies.

Now I look forward to the onslaught of Christmas movies. So much so, that we’re getting a 2 week Netflix trial just to get to the business of watching great Christmas movies more efficiently.

In an effort to help others who suffer from poor taste in Christmas movies I present to you:

THE PROTHRO CHRISTMAS MOVIE LIST (with a random fact about each movie)

1. It’s a Wonderful Life (1946)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This movie was a box office flop and didn’t win any of its five Oscar nominations but has since been voted by AFI as one of the Top 100 movies ever made, it comes in at #11.

2. Miracle on 34th Street (1947)


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When this movie first released at the Roxy, Macy’s closed for half a day  so its 12,000 employees could see the movie on opening day.

3. White Christmas (1954)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is the third  film to feature Bing Crosby singing “White Christmas”.

4. A Christmas Carol (1984)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Scrooge’s grave remains at St Chad’s Church graveyard in Shrewsbury, where the churchyard sequence was filmed- the production team left the gravestone in place after the filming was finished.

5. Holiday Inn (1942)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For the “drunk” dance, Fred Astaire had eight drinks of bourbon by the seventh take which was the shot used in the film.

These are our five must see Christmas movies. We’ll probably watch at least 10 others but none classic enough to be listed alongside these lovelies.

Merry.Merry.

2 Comments »

  1. Every time we went to NYC my family tried to get a picture taken by 34th for my aunt Kathy who absolutely adores that movie…great choices!

    Comment by Meg — November 29, 2009 @ 9:23 am

  2. For the life of me, I will always love White Christmas the most.

    Watching Bing Crosby and Danny Kaye dance around…their voices are so good. So many awesome songs featured in that movie.

    I am glad that you have your husband on this one…Way to go, EP.

    Comment by Chris Hill — November 30, 2009 @ 7:13 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

