the secret lives of prothros.

October 14, 2009

words.

Filed under: Uncategorized — prothro @ 4:18 pm

Do you ever notice how some words seem to lose their meaning the more you hear them? It is as if, with every repetition of the syllables, the very substance of the word is slowly squeezed out of it. The bright side of that problem is that on rare occasions you can come back to the word and have a serendipitous discovery of its true meaning. You can discover, all over again, the lost substance of words.

I had one of these moments this week.

The word: “lord”. I hear it so often. It has become somewhat of a prayer punctuation. “Lord God we pray for healing Lord God that Your hand would be on this situation Lord God that your will would be done Lord God.” Does anyone know what I’m talking about? It’s not a bad thing. It’s just that I’ve kind of been numbed to the word. I haven’t been hearing what it means.

Well this week I got a serendipitous slap in the face. Yes, those can be serendipitous. The greek word for Lord is κύριος and here is the definition:

1) he to whom a person or thing belongs, about which he has power of deciding; master, lord

a) the possessor and disposer of a thing

1) the owner; one who has control of the person, the master

2) in the state: the sovereign, prince, chief, the Roman emperor

b) is a title of honour expressive of respect and reverence, with which servants greet their master

c) this title is given to: God, the Messiah

A nice reminder. I like weighty words. And I like belonging to God.

Does anyone else have words like that?

On a completely unrelated note, it had been way to long since I’d seen a great hill country sunset. So Evan and I drove down 1431 towards Marble Falls until we found one. And it was just what I needed. Yummy light drenching into wispy clouds over big gorgeous trees on a winding road. Sigh. Feeling blessed.

IMG_9295

1 Comment »

  1. I absolutely love this pic- what a creative God we serve! I know have this as my desktop picture. 🙂

    Comment by Suzanne — October 15, 2009 @ 4:26 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

