the secret lives of prothros.

September 21, 2009

insult to injury.

Filed under: Uncategorized — prothro @ 11:49 am

So lots of you got to hear about the embarrassing ordeal of my first car accident. Well, apparently my shame quota wasn’t filled for September because last Wednesday, less than one week after the rolling backwards into a minivan-of-babies, strangers-fingers-in-my-ear first accident fun, I accomplished yet another feat of lameness.

So last Wednesday after coming back from a beautiful drive, happy and carefree, I pull into the garage, roll up the car windows, close the garage and head inside to see my sweet puppy.

A few hours later I realize that I left my book in the car, and head to the garage to retrieve it. I open the door and see my garage door open, exposed to the world. I assume I forgot to close it and hit the button again. STOP. Look back just four sentences ago and you’ll see plain as day that I closed the garage. That didn’t take long to discover did it? NO! And it would have been just as quick for me to think back a few hours and realize that I had closed it and something must be blocking the door. Apparently, patience or rational thought in general were not on my radar that day.

So as the garage door begins to close, I hear it hit the spare tire on the back of my car. Dumb-that was my first thought. Did those few bumper-less hours after my accident really impair my depth of field estimations for my car that much? Then a new thought came into my head. OH DEAR!!

It was at this point that I began to hear and see parts falling from the garage door. Then the entire garage door begins to fall, not like it’s supposed to, but straight down, like on top of  the car. Awesomeness.

I run inside to grab a chair so I can reach up to hold the garage door, then I grab a wrench and start undoing hinges so I can reattach the rolly nail things into the garage track. It was VERY scientific. And you know what? I did it! Me, my sweater-vest, and my grease covered hands had done it! I was so pleased as punch that now the garage door was at least supported, rather than hanging down and that my husband wouldn’t have to come home to another one of my home grown catastrophes.

Like I should be so lucky.

I went to re-attach the next rolly thing and it needed a special tool, a 6 sided screwdriver. Huh? It was also at this point that I realized that on the other side of the garage the track was completely bent and the garage door was altogether crooked. The thrill of my accomplishment was gone. Again, I needed Evan to save the day.

And he did.

He got home, assessed damages, sent me to get the ladder we had lent to a friend and in the 10 minutes I was gone, he had fixed the entire thing. That day he also mowed, fertilized, and fixed the fence. Did I marry a man or what?

THE WINNER:

The winner of the book drawing was Ms. Jessica Schmale! Don’t be discouraged if you didn’t win, because with a 12.5% chance of winning, you’ll all have books soon. 🙂 And I’ll make sure to put another Bill Bryson one on for you Travis.

4 Comments »

  1. You hit the lottery when you married Evan. You crack me up with your stories. Have you started your novel yet???? mommy

    Comment by Mom — September 21, 2009 @ 6:34 pm

  2. If it makes you feel any better I did the exact same thing last week. (Minus my garage door getting broken, though). I just assumed I had left it up earlier.

    Also, I almost left for a week of vacation with the garage door wide open. Actually, I did leave, I just thankfully ended up having to come back a few hours later for something I forgot – yikes!!!

    That should certainly make you feel better 🙂

    Comment by ashley — September 21, 2009 @ 7:45 pm

  3. You and you sweater vest.
    Did I even tell you that I backed up into Will’s car a couple weeks ago? I was in go-go mommy mode and mistakenly assumed that his car was where it always is, not looking in my side mirror, and just backed right into his bumper. To add insult to injury (as you so perfectly put it), two of our across the street neighbors are watching the whole thing while I am hysterically trying to get Will’s keys to move his car when all I needed to do was pull forward, straighten up and try again. I got it together after Will stepped in and took over the situation. Where would we be without our husbands? Needless to say, I know how it feels to temporarily lose all sensibility.

    Comment by Laura — September 22, 2009 @ 12:46 pm

  4. […] may remember that I’ve had some trouble parking my car in the garage recently. Well super-Evan, in typical fashion came up with a clever […]

    Pingback by lasers. « the secret lives of prothros. — October 8, 2009 @ 6:28 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

