the secret lives of prothros.

September 16, 2009

new roads

Filed under: Uncategorized — prothro @ 2:30 pm

I love our church. We’re really blessed to be able to fellowship at ACF. Evan and I both work on the creative arts team, I podcast and he heads up the sound team. I also have a wonderful group of 7th grade girls I meet with on Wednesdays. Tonight is our first night and I am oh so excited! Basically, this adds up to about three trips to church for me a week.

The drive to church is fine, it takes about 15 minutes down ugly old FM620, a street covered in traffic lights and businesses. The turnoff for church is right before the gorgeous overlook of the lake. I never really thought about the drive, just where I was going, what I was about to do.

Well a few weeks ago, something wonderful happened. We were enlightened about a new route. Now I love new routes anyways. But this was not just any route. It is a gorgeous, tree covered, lake-view, curving, no lights and no businesses route. With waterfalls by the side of the road I might add.

And it still takes just 15 minutes from door to door.

How great is that? Its the only road I take now. I enjoy the journey so much more now, and as I was driving today I thought about how much this new road felt like my life. I’d been taking one road that was all well and good because of where I was going. But now, even though I’m going the same place the journey is richer and more enjoyable. Full of more of the things I love.

Thank God for new roads.

I had to pull over and take a few pictures with my phone.

IMG_0302IMG_0296

1 Comment »

  1. I wish we had such a nice view on the way to church…because I’m making the trip twice a week over here.
    So when we come see you in November we’ll be sure to be there at least one Sunday so we can see this new road.
    đŸ™‚

    Comment by Meg — September 16, 2009 @ 6:14 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

