the secret lives of prothros.

May 13, 2009

music makes me (fill in the blank)

Filed under: Uncategorized — prothro @ 10:28 pm

Music is one of my favorite things in the world. It is one of the quickest mood changers I’ve ever known and there is such power in it, that to be honest, I find it odd. A few notes pieced together can just move me to a mellow or happy mood. Its weird for sounds to have such power right? Now, I’m not musically gifted myself, which is sad because there is part of me that really wonders what it would be like to stand on stage, play a song and watch a crowd of people go through a mood transformation. It really must be surreal.

As for little unmusical me, I’m just glad to be a spectator. This weekend my sweet husband got us tickets to go see matt nathanson and jack’s mannequin and it was so wonderful! The show was sunday night at stubb’s, the weather was warm but breezy and we got a great to spot close to the stage.

The true surprise of the night was Erin McCarley, who was the first opener. I had no expectations since I’d never heard of her but we were both soo pleasantly surprised. She’s a dallas, tx native and has a beautiful voice and a lot of talent. When you watch her, you can’t help but like her, she has this raw kind of sweetness to her and songs that you start singing before you even know the words. She did a cover of  the suzanne vega song tom’s diner (the one that sounds like i dream of jeannie) with her keys player doing beat box and i didn’t realize it wasn’t a track until halfway through because he was good. We came home and bought her album (the first I’ve gotten in months) to listen to while we painted the living room. You should check her out, blue suitcase is currently my favorite song on the record.

IMG_5140

Then Matt Nathanson, oh dear, how i loved him. From song choice, to stage presence to witty banter and a cover of jesse’s girl, he really was everything i’d hoped for, which is impressive because my hopes were set high. I’d been hearing of his great concerts since before I even started listening to him, so with every song of his i became a fan of, my expectation grew, “gee, i’d like to hear this in concert”. The only downside of his show is that it wasn’t three hours long, because I would have stood there the whole stinking time.

IMG_5142

Finishing the night off was Jack’s Mannequin. They were great and talented, though my least favorite of the night, which is just a function of how much i liked the first two. I would like to take this opportunity to just get something off my chest. DO NOT wear a band’s shirt to their concert, ESPECIALLY if it is for the current tour and you bought it five minutes ago at the merch table. Jack’s Mannequin’s fans were the worst I’ve ever seen with this. There are exception for homemade shirts and shirts supporting the little known opening band but that’s all. Thanks.

I love concerts and this was one of my favorites. It has left me craving another though, so I ask, who would YOU like to see in concert?

3 Comments »

  1. I adore Matt Nathanson (thanks Pandora for turning me on to him!)…his live album is gorgeous and I would like to see him in concert.
    I’d really like to see Jack Johnson one day, and a miraculous “getting the band back together” Bikini Kill concert. And Ani DiFranco.
    And after hearing Amos Lee live on the radio I’d love to see him…and Radiohead. and The Dining Rooms.

    it’s obviously been a while since I’ve been to a concert.

    Comment by Meg — May 13, 2009 @ 11:21 pm

  2. In this moment I’m more sad than ever that I couldn’t go with ya’ll. I LOVE ERIN MCCARLY!!!! Darn family for being in town.

    Comment by Jess — May 14, 2009 @ 12:08 pm

  3. Thanks for trying to get the word out about standard concert etiquette. It does seem like most people never really understand how terrible wearing unwashed merch is.

    Comment by Brad — June 24, 2009 @ 12:43 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

